Ulf Aberg Award

The Ulf Aberg Award is for the best postgraduate student project in ergonomics/human factors.

Nominations should be made by the student’s supervisor, course director or head of department/school. The project is usually marked and evaluated by the home university during the immediately preceding academic year.

Nominate someone for this awardDownload the nomination form

Who was Ulf Aberg?

Ulf Aberg was born in 1920 and graduated in electrical engineering from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm in 1945, gaining a Doctorate in 1961. For 14 years he worked with Ericsson, and later with the National Defence Research Institute, on acoustics, speech transmission and information theory. After several industrial research posts he founded the Laboratory of Industrial Ergonomics at the Royal Institute of Technology in 1969, later developing the Institute of Work Sciences which embraced Occupational Accidents, Construction Ergonomics and Industrial ergonomics.

The cross disciplinary membership of the Institute permitted a broad approach to industrial work which was demonstrated by major involvement in the design and implementation of many new plant installations in Sweden. He co-authored the first Swedish textbook on ergonomics and, as Professor of Industrial Ergonomics, was influential in introducing many students to his catholic approach to the subject. He was the first foreign member of the Ergonomics Society and the founder chairman of the Nordic Ergonomics Society.

Roll of honour

2019 Tassilo Bouwman: “I'm from Cologne and after volunteering as a gardener at a castle for a year, I studied Business Information Systems and worked as an IT Sales trainee. Then I completed a six month internship at a mobile agency learning the software creation process.  I started studying Human Computer Interaction at University College London in 2016 where I continued focusing on mobile design ideas. I won the best project prize for a prototype that allowed smart home setups to be controlled using hand gestures. I also created a mobile game to rise awareness of air pollution and I finished second at the CHI Student Design Competition 2018 with a concept for a smart compass for an urban farm in London.  After my graduation I started working as a User Interface Designer for Runtastic, a mobile fitness company with over 130+ million registered users."

2018 Caroline Wilcock
2017 Milena Studic, Miguel Aulet
2016 Ruby Allen
2015 Vicki Antrobus
2014 Katarzyna Stawarz
2013 Nicolette Conti
2012 Laura Lewis & Andrew Lowrey
2011 Jan Mulligan & Pauline Cole
2010 Francesca Pagnacco
2009 Kim Hiltz & William Baker
2008 Dr Tara Reilly
2007 Sian Taylor-Phillips
2006 K Mercer
2005 Z Mack
2004 L Fleet
2003 Caroline Gowing
2002 Laura Norton
2001 Ian Rowley
2000 Wendy Morris
1999 E J Wright
1998 Ann Brooks; Ilse Cowdery
1996 Aileen Sullivan, Nottingham University
1995 Linda Bossi, Loughborough University of Technology
1993 Joanna Thomason, Birmingham University
1992 Mark R Wilson, Loughborough University of Technology
1991 Jacqueline Nicholls, London University
1990 I Denley
1989 Margaret Boase, Loughborough University of Technology
1987 Anthony E P Esgate, Birkbeck College London
1986 Kian Chye Ong, University of Hull
1984 M Andrew C Life, University College London
1983 Michael J Tipton, Kings College London
1982 E Barry Gill, University of Aston in Birmingham
1981 Boi-Leong Yap, Loughborough University of Technology
1980 Adrian A Philpott, University College London
1978 William A Evans, University College London
1977 Rachel R Birnbaum, University College London