Institute Awards

Our Institute awards are growing in recognition as the reach and influence of those studying and working in the discipline increases. The awards recognise the skills, knowledge and experience of both teams and individuals, who are either just starting out in their careers or are more well established.

There are no entry fees. The awards are based on self-nominations or on nominations from tutors, organisations and peers, recognising excellence in advancing the discipline in both research and practice.

For all awards you have until 31st October to enter a nomination. The winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony at the CIEHF’s Ergonomics & Human Factors conference in April.


Best project or single piece of work : William Floyd Award


Scientific research : Sir Frederic Bartlett Award
Group award : President’s Award
Practical application : Otto Edholm Award
Significant & sustained contribution : Institute Lecture
Outstanding communications : Richard Clive Holman Award


Outstanding contribution to the Institute : Paul Branton Award

Young Professionals Awards

Best young ergonomist/HF professional : Hywel Murrell Award
Best postgraduate project : Ulf Aberg Award
Travel bursary : John R Wilson Award

Research Papers

Best paper in Ergonomics : Liberty Mutual Award
Best paper in Applied Ergonomics : Applied Ergonomics Award

IEA awards

The International Ergonomics Association's prestigious Libery Mutual Medal recognises outstanding original research leading to the reduction of work-related injuries, including significant advancement of theory and understanding, innovation and development of new directions or approaches. The award includes a payment of $10,000. The submission deadline is 31 May each year. Find out more.

The IEA also presents triennial awards in 8 different categories:

  • The IEA Distinguished Service Award
  • The IEA Outstanding Educators Award
  • The IEA Award for Promotion of Ergonomics in Industrially Developing Countries
  • The IEA Ergonomics Development Award
  • IEA Human Factors and Ergonomics Prize
  • The IEA/Elsevier John Wilson Award
  • The IEA President's Award
  • The K U Smith Student Award

The next closing date is 28 February 2021. Find out more about each award.